07
Nov
11

Humanists and the Occupy Movement

Do you think the Occupiers are justified in engaging in civil disobedience by camping in parks without a permit? I do. It doesn’t hurt anybody, and the people have a constitutional right to assembly.

What about marching without a permit in streets, tying up traffic, or shutting down the port of Oakland? That does inconvenience others. I’d rather queasy about that, and think those tactics should be used sparingly if at all.

Would engaging with the Occupy movement give Humanists a potential new source of adherents?

I’ve described my participation with Occupy Boston in a post on The Humanist magazine’s blog, Rant & Reason

I’ve led meditations there as an outgrowth of what I’ve been doing at the Humanist Mindfulness group. I have also published an ebook on Amazon called Occupy the Moment, which obviously has to do with the Occupy Wall Street movement and perhaps less obviously with the idea of “being in the moment.”

It only costs 99 cents, but each sale will help give me a track record to maybe someday get this published as a real, physical book, so I’d appreciate your support. If you don’t have a Kindle, you can download the free Kindle app for Mac, Windows, iPhone at my Occupy the Moment web site.

2 Responses to “Humanists and the Occupy Movement”


  1. 1 Elizabeth R Stone
    November 10, 2011 at 3:42 am

    Thanks for the link to the free kindle app.

    I previewed what I could of your book and it looks really interesting and inspiring. I definitely don’t want a kindle and was frustrated that I couldn’t read it, so I googled you to find you to vent my feelings about the situation.

    How wonderful that you provided a solution that meets boths our needs!!

    There was a review/comment on amazon about having to buy a kindle, so I posted that we could get the app for free.

    I think this is an example of individuals taking back economic power.

    I look forward to reading the full text.

    I learned about your book because Rick Hanson mentioned it in his weekly mailing.


Comments are currently closed.

